Slinkies, Spotify, and Steven

Well, I should be doing homework right now. Instead, I am listening to Spotify and playing with a green slinky that I got for free a few weeks ago. It says “Google” on it. It’s awesome. But the slinky is irrelevant. Right now I want to talk about my Spotify account and why it is so important to me.

I have been living away from home for over two months now. Although I have seen my family many times since I went away to college, I still miss them a lot.

Tonight I began streaming music on my Spotify account, and halfway through listening to The Killer’s “All These Things That I’ve Done” the music abruptly cut out. Across the top of the screen was a yellow banner that read, “Spotify has been paused because your account is being used somewhere else.” I smiled and resumed the music. This happens every now and then. My brother Steven and I share my Spotify account. The reason why is because it is a paid premium account that gives the user a lot of extra benefits. In short, Steven decided he wanted to mooch off of my account and, being the awesome big brother that I am, I let him. So both of us use the same account, but the catch is that Spotify doesn’t allow a single account to be used on more than one device at a time. When he tries to stream music at the same time I do, we both get cut off and the yellow banner appears. Shortly after Steven joined my account back in June, we agreed that since I am the one paying for the account, I get to keep streaming music when this issue arises.

My point is that while I used to get annoyed when Steven used my account at the same time I did, I don’t anymore. Since I see him a lot less frequently these days, I actually like when this happens from time to time. Along with texting, phone calls, and FaceTime, these “Spotify interruptions” are one of the little ways that I stay connected to him. Whenever the music cuts out and the yellow banner appears, I like to think about where Steven was when he tried to access my account and what song he was trying to listen to. Also, I love opening Spotify and seeing all of the new songs that Steven starred when I was away. I listen to all of them and leave them starred, even if they are awful. In a way, this shared account has become an interactive experience. I love it.

Leave a Reply

