The Spaces Between My Footsteps

I clench a fist of lawn

But do not pull it out.

It sits smartly in my hand

While snugly in the earth.

Photosynthesis.

I can perform it, really, I can.

My skin drinks the photons

Of the sun

And in turn, my body laughs.

This is what it means to live.

I walk my shoelaces,

They drag behind me.

But my mind is back there with them

And my heart has germinated

And I want to get to where I am going

But at the same time

I want the spaces

Between my footsteps

To last forever.

Import 1 164

3 thoughts on “The Spaces Between My Footsteps

Leave a Reply

